Stormy Weather.

In 2006, Sam and I were traveling east on I-70 as a storm began brewing in the distance ahead of us. I wasn’t thrilled by the prospect of driving through a massive hail storm and we needed to fuel up anyway, so I pulled into a gas station in Colby, Kansas.

As the pump churned away we scanned the threatening clouds that had begun circling all around us. I told Sam to get in the car, the pump shut off and I jumped in too. Within a millisecond, a tornado formed directly above us, touching down a mere 100 feet behind the car. The twister quickly moved across the street and then off into the horizon without causing any serious damage. I made a few quick grab shots, then we loaded up and continued on our way.

©Eli Reichman, 2012. All Rights Reserved.

And then we were treated to a post-tornado rainbow. After all, this is Kansas…

©Eli Reichman, 2012. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

