The morning run.

5:45am today.  Outside my bedroom window.

I hear my 17yr old son shriek, WTF!

AHHHHH! And then again, WTF!!!

He sounds like a 13 year old girl.

I get up.  Go outside to see what the panic’s all about.

He’s gone.  Car’s still in the driveway, no damage.

All is quiet.

40 minutes later, now wide awake and working at the computer, the exact same scene is repeated.

Now I’m getting a little pissed.  What the hell is wrong with this kid?

The boy comes inside about to hyperventilate.

Sam: “Did you see that?”

Me: “Whoa Sam, calm down.  What’s going on?”

Sam: “An owl swooped down from the tree’s and attacked me!  It hit me on my f’ing head!”

Me: “Seriously?”

Sam: “It attacked me when I left and just now when I came back.  That’s gotta be the meanest owl ever.”

Fall XC training.  I love this time of year.  Let the season begin.

Rim Rock farm.  Lawrence, KS.  ©Eli Reichman, 2009.

Rim Rock farm. Lawrence, KS. ©Eli Reichman, 2009.

4 thoughts on “The morning run.

  1. Sam needs to remember his training for playing 2nd base. GLOVE UP!

  2. jerkface.
    I’d like to see you get attacked by some strange creature before sun up.

Leave a Reply

